Wednesday, September 15, 2010

Rockland primary election results 

Incumbent David Stein turned back a challenge from Noah Weinberg in a race for Ramapo justice, while Assemblyman Kenneth Zebrowski and challenger Frank Sparaco split their contest for the Independence and Working Families line, according to unofficial results from the Rockland County Board of Elections.

In the 94th Assembly District, Sparaco had partial success challenging Zebrowski for the Independence and Working Families lines through a write-in campaign.

Sparaco handily beat Zebrowski for the Working Families line. But Zebrowski easily beat Sparaco for the Independence line.

In any case, the two men will square off in less than two months. Zebrowski is the Democratic candidate, while Sparaco is on the Republican and Conservative lines.

Clarkstown, Haverstraw and part of Ramapo make up the 94th Assembly District.

In Ramapo, Stein won the Democratic primary for town judge.

Stein, a member of the Ramapo Town Board for 25 years, has served as Town Justice since he was appointed to the post in January by the Town Board. Noah Weinberg, a Republican and former Rockland County Department of Social Services commissioner, aggressively appealed to the Hasidic and Orthodox Jewish communities for votes.

U.S. Rep. Eliot Engel, D-Bronx, will square off against York Kleinhandler in the November general election.

Kleinhandler, of West Nyack, secured the Republican line on Tuesday night, defeating Anthony Mele of Chestnut Ridge. He is seeking to defeat Engel, who has held the 17th Congressional District seat for the past 22 years.

Kleinhandler also has the Independence and Conservative lines.

In the 19th Congressional District, Nan Hayworth, of Bedford Corners, beat Neil DiCarlo, of Brewster, for the Republican line as they seek to unseat Rep. John Hall, D-Dover Plains.

In Suffern, Jo Corrigan and Jack Meehan triumphed over Jack Rosenberg and William Schoenleber to represent the Democrats for two open seats on the village board in the November elections.

Mayor Degan LaCorte had previously thrown his support behind Corrigan and Schoenleber.

In West Haverstraw, Village Trustee Republican candidate David Barbera appeared to win Independence party lines in a very tight race, while Village Trustee Ramon Lopez appeared to have beat Barbera for the Conservative line, also in a close contest.

Lopez, a Democrat who was appointed to the board in April, also has the Working Families party line. Barbera sought to challenge him through write-in efforts.

All results are unofficial.


Comments: Post a Comment

This page is powered by Blogger. Isn't yours?

Chaptzem! Blog